The District Executive Committee

The District Executive Committee exists to support the District Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of the appointment and to provide support for Scout Groups, Explorer Scout Units and the Scout Network in the District. The Committee is specifically responsible for:

  • promoting the development of Scouting in the District;
  • arranging for harmonious co-operation between Groups and between units of the Association and with other organisations;
  • the raising of funds and the administration of the District's finance and property, including those of the Explorer Scout section and District Scout Network;
  • appointing a District Appointments Advisory Committee and a Chairman of such a Committee;
  • appointing other sub-Committees and their Chairmen as the Committee may require;
  • attending to District administration, particularly:
    • matters relating to Leader appointments;
    • the appointment of Skills Instructors, Administrators and Advisers;
    • registrations, membership of the Movement;
    • the presentation of an Annual Report and annual statement of accounts to the Annual General Meeting of the District Scout Council.

Members of the District Executive Committee are:

Ex-Officio Members

Ian Chick
District Chair

Ian is also the District Nights Away Advisor (DNAA) and looks after the district website

Cathy Muxlow
District Commissioner

Cathy is also the Scout Leader at 1st Greenford

Frankie Snell
District Youth Commissioner
Hannah Frith
District Youth Commissioner
Alex Taylor-Brown
District Youth Commissioner

- - vacant role - -
District Secretary

If you are interested in finding out more about this role, please email us at

Paul Melhuish
District Treasurer

- - vacant role--
District Explorer Scout Commissioner
Daljit Aubby
District Scout Network Commissioner

Nominated Members

Andy Appleby
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)

Andy is the Group Scout Leader (GSL) of 8th Greenford Scout Group

Rik Fox
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)

Rik is a Deputy District Commissioner

Marian Melhuish
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)

Andrew Norman
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)

Andrew is the Deputy District Chair and Chair of the Appointments Advisory Committee

Bryan Payne
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)
Steve Pound
District Executive Committee Member (Nominated)

Elected Members

Sarah Appleby
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)

Sarah is also the Assiatant County Commissioner (Beaver Scouts)

Sue Brooks
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)

Sue is also Assistant District Commissioner (Beaver Scouts) and Appointments Secretary

Stuart Dingwall
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)

Bill Lewis
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)

Bill is the Group Scout Leader (GSL) of 3rd Perivale Scout Group

Frankie Snell
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)
Phil Thorne
District Executive Committee Member (Elected)

Phil is the site warden for Southall Activity Centre

Co-Opted Members

Alex Taylor-Brown
District Executive Committee Member (Co-Opted)

Duchess of Cambridge visits 12th Northolt Scout Group
HRH Duchess of Cambridge visiting 12th Northolt Scout Group

29 September 2020

HRH The Duchess of Cambridge marks start of Joint Presidency by thanking Scouts volunteers.

We're so pleased to announce that HRH The Duchess of Cambridge today becomes Joint President of the Scouts, working alongside HRH The Duke of Kent to champion the power of Scouting and oversee the council - our governing body.

The Duchess' first engagement as Joint President was a visit to 12th Northolt Scouts to thank them and all Scouts volunteers for supporting young people during lockdown. Making whirly bird helicopters with Cubs, she also encouraged Beaver Scouts as they made cards to send to a local care home.

See the stories at on The Scouts website and The Mail Online.

This website is using cookies. More info. Thats fine